Who We Are / Our Team

Our mission, our values, our people

The current Board is composed of President, Vice-President and nine regular members, each of them deaf and having a different nationality. The Board members are all volunteers and financially supported by their national deaf associations (or another sponsor) enabling them to attend Board meetings. The Board usually holds meetings twice a year in different locations all over the world. These meetings are hosted and financially supported by the organising deaf association in accordance to WFD Board Meeting Guidelines. Prior to the actual Board meetings one to two days is reserved for WFD Working Committee meetings which enable comprehensive discussions and sharing of views prior to the actual Board meetings. Board members’ term is four years with an option for re-election.

If you are interested in hosting the WFD Board, please contact


Dr Joseph J. Murray
President, USA

Mr Kasper Bergmann
Vice-President, Denmark

Mr Withayoot Bunnag
Board Member, Thailand

Mr Juan A. de Gouveia Fernandez
Board Member, Venezuela

Mr Bruno Druchen
Board Member, South Africa

Mr Francesco (Frank) Folino
Board Member, Canada

Ms Hjordis Anna Haraldsdottir
Board Member, Iceland

Florjan Rojba
Board Member, Albania

Mr Steffen Helbing
Board Member, Germany

Stanislav Ivanov
Board Member, Russian Federation

Ms Victoria Manning  

Board Member, New Zealand


  • 1951 – 1955: Late Mr Vittorio Ieralla, Italy
  • 1955 – 1983: Late Dr Dragolijub Vukotic, former Yugoslavia
  • 1983 – 1995: Late Dr Yerker Andersson, USA
  • 1995 – 2003: Dr Liisa Kauppinen, Finland
  • 2003 – 2011: Dr Markku Jokinen, Finland
  • 2011 – 2019: Mr Colin Allen AM, Australia